The Girl and the New Word Game


The Girl and I play a lot of word games and guessing games, mostly in the car as we’re to-ing and fro-ing from daycare to home, and back to her mum’s.

A popular one has been the “Animal game”, which I’ve mentioned here a couple of times by now, which is basically twenty questions about animals, without the “twenty” restriction. But, The Girl is constantly seeking to innovate when it comes to word games and guessing games, usually with extremely ambitious rules that ┬áseem to be weighted in her favour.

The Girl: I thought of a new game. I choose a letter, and then you guess which word begins with the letter.

Me: OK. It can be any word?

The Girl: Yes. I’ll go first: “E”

Me: Um. Can I have a hint?

The Girl: It has to do with an animal.

Me: Right. So, this word is animal-related in some way. Um. Elephant?

The Girl: No.

Me: OK. Egret?

The Girl: No.

Me: Elk?

The Girl: No.

Me: Um, earthworm?

The Girl: NO.

Me: OK, I can’t actually think of any other “E” words that are animal-related.

The Girl: Want me to tell you?

Me: Sure.

The Girl: It’s “donkey”!

Me: Donkey? That doesn’t begin with “E”.

The Girl: But donkeys say “EEEE-YAWWW”

Me: I don’t like this game.

One thought on “The Girl and the New Word Game

Leave a Reply

