The Girl, the Princess, The Pea, and Me


I stopped short during story-time this past weekend.

In reading to the Girl from a compendium of fairy tales, I chose the classic tale of the Princess and the Pea.  But, three or so sentences in, I had to stop.

“Let’s read this one. It’s a classic,” I said.

“Once upon a time, there was a prince. The Prince was sad because he couldn’t find anyone delicate enough to be a worthy bride. So, one day as a beautiful princess arrived in his kingdom, he decided to test her, to see whether or not she was delicate enough to …”

“You know what? Let’s not read this one.”

And we read a story about a pirate who sailed to a mysterious land to find his lost teddy-bear instead. OK, the pirate was a boy-pirate of course. But, anything was better than the Princess and the Pea.

Because for those three sentences, I realized a few things about the story that perhaps I had never fully understood, or saw. You all know the story, right? A pea is placed under the lowest mattress of a stack, and the Princess can’t sleep all night, because she’s so delicate that even the presence of a pea under that many mattresses doesn’t escape her sensitivity. So, the Prince finally knows she’s the one, delicate flower that she is. And they live, apparently, happily ever after.

Let’s unpack this.

First, that Prince has his head up his ass.

Anyone trying to meet those utterly sociopathic expectations of his would need to have a self-esteem level so low that it wouldn’t even register. So involved is he in finding who’s suitable for him, he’s ignored the fact that he’s a manipulative narcissist. What vegetable would we need to test for that, I wonder?

Second; I don’ t think that delicacy is something I want my daughter to aspire to. Actually, I’m sure it’s not.

Delicacy of the kind that’s held up as a virtue in this story would require a herculean amount of outside control to protect it, which I suppose is where the Prince comes in. There are no happily ever afters here. It is a completely damaging view of any sort of healthy relationship.

All of this got me thinking about these traditional stories, and how much I’d love to rewrite them. Unfortunately, my versions would leave the princes in them with not much to do.

I’d like to see Cinderella tell her stepmother and sisters to go screw, for example. I’d love to see her leave the house, set up on her own, and start a business.  Because failing that, her marriage to the Prince is merely a transfer of who it is that’s defining her identity and controlling her life.

I’d like to see Rapunzel cut her hair, and learn how to base-jump.  I’d like to see Snow White write a treatise on modern mining techniques during her time among the Dwarves, and create a reform movement in the kingdom that ousts any evil monarch, stepmother or no (note: stepmothers sure do get a raw deal in fairy tales) . I’d like to see the Little Mermaid dump the Prince, who’s too thick to know who really rescued him from drowning. And on and on. You get the idea.

Above all, I’d like to see more children’s stories where girls and women are shown to be strong as well as sensitive, and in control of their own fates without needing to adhere to some ideal of womanhood as dictated by some bland prince, who’s only virtue is his princeliness.

I’d like to read these to the Girl, and offer her an alternative vision of what it’s like to be female while still feeling the magic of mythical lands and peoples far away. Luckily, I have a number to choose from, including those by C.S Lewis, J.M Barrie, Lewis Carroll, L. Frank Baum, and others.

Let’s forget delicacy. Let’s concentrate on the business of having adventures, boldly and with confidence, and without a prince to judge them.

19 thoughts on “The Girl, the Princess, The Pea, and Me

  1. Many classic fairy tales *have* been re-written to suit modern sensibilities, including The Princess and The Pea. The name/author of that story escapes me at the moment, but for a contemporary update of the Cinderella story, check out Prince Cinders by Babette Cole (and all of her wonderful, weird, hilarious, and fantastically-illustrated books too, while you’re at it). I also recommend Robert Munsch’s now-classic Paper Bag Princess.

    Great post!

  2. I’m sure in my version it was the prince’s mother who set the impossible standard and booby trapped the bed. Most of these stories are murky tales of suppressed incestuous urges 🙂

    we are still on the gingerbread man and the enormous turnip which are pretty straightforward!

    • Hi Emma!

      As I was just discussing with Leslie off-blog, many of these stories have older roots, complete scenes of with rape, incest, murder, and cannibalism. At least with those, you know where you are. 🙂

      The enormous turnip isn’t one I know. But, the gingerbread man is a lesson in how not to be a cocky bastard, isn’t it.

      Cheers for comments!

  3. Rob,
    What a great post! The girl is fortunate indeed to have a Dad who will encourage her to define herself not by long ago standards but by what feels right for her. You’re awesome 🙂

    • Thanks! A big part of this will be getting over my own cultural biases, of course. I’m sure the Girl will have plenty to teach me as she gets older.

  4. I had the same discomfort reading the Princess and the Pea to my son. The mastermind behind the pea plan was the prince’s mother in my version. Still, it was annoying how the princess’s only virtues were:
    – Beauty, which the prince notices despite her bedraggled appearance
    – Delicacy, which the mother uses as ‘proof’ of her princess-dom

    I remember foggily a version from my childhood that had the pea incident occur after the prince fell in love with the princess after getting to know her a bit. Beauty was a part of the charm, but also wit. There was still the big pea reveal, however.

    I really like the version of Rapunzel in which the witch catches the prince and pushes him out of the window. He falls and pokes his eyes out and wanders the land as a blind begger. The witch also exiles Rapunzel, who bears the prince’s twins, and goes looking for him. She finds him after making her own way as a single mother and she heals him with her tears. I like that the story isn’t as neat, and that Rapunzel has the chance to experience the world outside the tower without a prince/protector, and that in the end she saves him.

    Despite the antifeminist leanings of many fairy tales, I still love them. I especially love how there can be so many versions of the same story. I like to embroider them when I tell them to my son, and I do like the ones with a more macabre twist.

    • Thanks for comments, Briana.

      I think it’s important to note that these tales are moving targets culturally speaking. As brought up earlier, and mirrored in your own comment, there are many different versions of these stories, all geared to the ages in which they were originally told. To me, this proves their ultimate value, not just because they’re enduring, but also because they seem to invite revision against the values of the day. I don’t think this means that we need to censor them, or eliminate them. The challenge is to re-imagine them, perhaps in the telling, and in collaboration with our children who no doubt have their own ideas as to what makes a valuable connection from one person to another.

      Thanks again for comments!

  5. Woot. Cheers and Hoorah for being a Dad who notices and cares. Many women my age (which remains unrevealed) are caught in the chasm between the archetype of Cinderella waiting for Prince Charming to bring her glass slipper, which by the way are not meant for walking very far; and the image of a strong can-do woman. Some stories that might serve your purpose include:
    The Wizard of Oz: Dorothy leads her 3 team mates to discover their strengths and along the way finds her own.
    Alice in Wonderland, a real adventuress.

    Cheers,
    Anne aka @bizshrink
    The Whale Rider – a movie about a girl who is told she “can’t” because she is not a boy, and proves she “can” when she saves her tribe.

    • It’s funny, Ann. I eluded to the Wizard of Oz in my last post, and noticed the very thing you brought up – that Dorothy, when on her own with a problem to solve, does so by surrounding herself with friends she can count on. When it comes to fostering leadership in our children, and in ourselves too, this is a pretty powerful idea.

      Thanks a lot for comments.

  6. @Anne: Alice in Wonderland, my favourite book! I got it for my 7th birthday, and I read it to my daughter when she was 7.

    @Rob: Disney’s recent film Tangled is an update of the Rapunzel story. I haven’t seen it, but Kate’s review went thusly: “Rapunzel wasn’t a girly girl. She was a girl like me.” When The Girl gets a few years older, you should read Anne of Green Gables with her. Not only does it prove that there were feisty, intelligent heroines 100 years ago, but it will give her (and you) an entertaining view of our country when it was young.

    • Thanks for the recommendation, Leslie. I’d heard of Tangled, and that it had got good reviews. We’ll have to rent that one when it comes out on DVD (almost said “video” – eep!). The Anne of Green Gables recommendation is also valuable. I want to enjoy every stage of the Girl’s life, but in some ways I can hardly wait until she’s old enough for serialized storytime, and books with counter-narratives and character development. 🙂

  7. I read The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and the other books in Frank Baum’s series to Kate a few years ago, as well. More proof that there were good female role models in fiction 100+ years ago.

  8. Rob I love your writing. I never even thought of these things. However now raising a little girl of my own this post really resonated with me. I totally want my daughter to be strong and independent. Love this post.

    • Ah, thanks very much Andrew. In some ways, I think becoming a dad to a daughter has made me more aware of certain cultural currents which we need to re-examine as parents, and particularly as fathers. Another thing it makes me aware of is that I am the first man my daughter will know well, and that my expectations of her, and the influence I have on her will, to a certain extent, be a guide to how she approaches relationships with other men as she grows into womanhood. It’s kind of a scary thought in a way. But, it feels like an honour, too.

      Thanks for comments.

  9. For “delicate” read “perceptive” or “aware of her own surroundings” and see how it changes the flow of the story – this isn’t a story that was originally written in English. Perhaps it’s not about being what we would consdier delicate, but being sensitive. Some would suggest it’s about her depth of feeling and compassion identifying her as nobility.

    • Hey Rob!

      You’ve touched on a theme that a few people here have touched on, which is how malleable these stories are. You’re interpretation evolves the story, for certain. Of course my beef is that the princess is judged by others against that one very literal trait. I suppose the story would really evolve if the emphasis were not so much on the pea, as it is on the princess; that her compassion would be valued in the story because she herself sees its value in her, as opposed to having it valued as a commodity by a would-be husband.

      Thanks for comments!

  10. I think Rob makes a very good point, above, that these stories can be interpreted, and translated, very differently.

    I stayed for story time at my son’s kindergarten this morning and, coincidentally, the teacher read a story called Yeh-Shen, a Chinese version of the Cinderella story. The teacher remarked under her breath at the end of the story to the adults present that her inner feminist was at war with her love of fairy tales, but that she had decided the stories couldn’t do that much harm. As well, she intended to read the children Princess Smartypants the next day, to balance it out. Princess Smartypants is about a princess who doesn’t want to get married, and who outwits her suitors. It’s by Babette Cole, whose books I recommended above.

    I started reading Anne of Green Gables with Kate last night; she listened with rapt attention despite the old-fashioned language, and we had to read three chapters before I was permitted to stop. 🙂

  11. I can’t believe I forgot to mention one of the very best heroines for girls ever — Harriet the Spy! Keep that one in mind for when The Girl’s about 9 or 10.

    You can start reading Beverly Cleary’s Ramona series earlier than that. (I just googled Beverly Cleary — she was born in 1916 and is still alive. She earned two university degrees in the 1930s — no wonder her heroines are positive role models for girls!)

  12. Pingback: NOW Leadership – February Edition | Germane Insights

Leave a comment